Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: It's not Great and it's not United.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 1:21 am 

Am I the only person in Australia that is of the opinion that writing ''in the UK and Europe'' is silly?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: It's not Great and it's not United.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 4:04 am 

<blockquote><font size="1" face="TImes, TimesNR, serif">quote:</font><hr>Originally posted by Paul Wiggins:
Am I the only person in Australia that is of the opinion that writing ''in the UK and Europe'' is silly?<hr></blockquote><p>No. I studied geography at school. However, some people probably did not. A Google search for the exact phrase came up with 251,000 links... including the BBC. At least the CIA knows what's where.<p>[ July 12, 2004: Message edited by: Lee ]</p>

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:03 pm 

This Yank always figured that was English pretentiousness.<p>If children and the elderly can swim from England to France, and if the countries can connect by tunnel, then that puts them in the same continent.<p>[I reserve the right to disregard this logic regarding Alaska and Siberia.]

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 1:15 pm 

It's very silly, Paul. The next time you see it, ask the reporter to make the case that the United Kingdom is not part of Europe. I'd be interested to hear it.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:33 pm 

<blockquote><font size="1" face="TImes, TimesNR, serif">quote:</font><hr>Originally posted by Matthew Grieco: