Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:10 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 
 Post subject: So I want to become a better copy editor ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:04 pm 

What should I be doing? I'm not awful now, but there are times when I go back over text the following day (I'm an editorial intern for a magazine, so I have that luxury on occasion) and find things I missed, which irritates me.
I read just about everything I can get my hands on, but sometimes obvious things slip by. I know no one is perfect, but any tips you all have on how to become a better copy editor would be greatly appreciated!
Also, something else I've been wanting to ask -- What skills/knowledge would you expect in an applicant for an entry-level copy editing position at a newspaper? (Magazine folks are welcome to reply as well, but since the majority of the posters here seem to be newspaper people, I figured I'd address them.)
Thanks!

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: So I want to become a better copy editor ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 pm 

there are times when I go back over text the following day (I'm an editorial intern for a magazine, so I have that luxury on occasion) and find things I missed, which irritates me.<p>May that always be so. Self-criticism without despondency inculcates excellence and keeps the ink in your veins.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 1:17 am