Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 40 posts ] 
 Post subject: Can newspaper copy editors have lives outside of work?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 5:05 pm 

Hi everyone.<p>I am a magazine copy editor in a major metro area who has aspirations to write about sports. <p>Magazine copy editors are pigeonholed as detail-oriented people who cannot see the metaphoric forest for the trees and therefore are rarely if ever given opportunities to line edit or, heaven forbid, write.<p>I have been thinking about trying to land a gig at a newspaper--whether it be on the features, news or sports desk--and then volunteering for writing assignments at that paper to see if I can cut it.<p>But as someone in my mid-30s who would eventually like to be married, I am wary of the night hours that a job on the news or sports desk would entail and how those hours would affect my social life. (My current job requires me to work days and portions of some nights, while I have others off entirely.) I also realize that if I were to land a full-time sportswriting job, those hours would by necessity preclude a social life, given that most sports are played at night and on weekends.<p>Are night and weekend hours a big sore point among newspaper copy editors? Have any of you ever considered leaving your jobs because of the hours? I have noticed that nearly every newspaper-copy-editor job posting I've seen mentions "night and weekend work required," so one could reasonably infer that the hours have been a common reason why the previous job holder left the position.<p>Thanks for any input you can provide.

Profile E-mail