Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 5:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: improving skills
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 4:57 pm 

I've been a copy editor/page designer for 5 years, with emphasis on the designing, and I'd like to improve my copy editing skills. Can y'all suggest any online courses I can take, or books I should study? There's no way the newspaper is going to send me to any seminars so it's up to me.
Thanks!

Post subject: Re: improving skills
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 10:40 pm 

Not really a course, but you can try these:<p>http://www.longleaf.net/newsroom101/

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 11:00 pm 

Memorize the style book. No, I'm not kidding. Take it a letter at a time.<p>By the way, when whining reporters complain about a style change in their story and you can tell 'em, without picking up the book, what page the entry is on, it pretty much shuts 'em up.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 1:07 am 

The advice for writers is much the same as the advice for editors: read a lot, and then read more. <p>The more you read, the more you'll develop an eye for mistakes in logic, and facts and everything else. <p>Maybe talk to some reporters and get horror stories of stuff editors have done to their stories.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 3:35 am