Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 5:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
 Post subject: Tests for copy editor candidates
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:25 pm 

Hi everyone. I'm a new night editor who needs to do some hiring. Which types of tests do you find most useful in determining how suitable a candidate is for the job? I won't be testing any design, this is strictly a copy editing position. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:55 pm 

Welcome...
For basic purposes, the Detroit Free Press jobs page has a decent test from the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund. It's a bit dated, but still useful.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:19 pm 

I have a few particularly bad pieces of local copy saved in a file and I give it to job candidates to see what they do with it.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:26 am 

I think you should add a page of local/state material to any standard test you give.

For instance, any candidate serious enough about the job to get to the test-taking point should know who Pennsylvania's governor and two senators are. They should be able to name, say, the five most populous cities in the state. They should be able to identify some top historical figures from the area. They should know some things unique to Pennsylvania law — say, the legal drinking age, whether there's a death penalty (and allowable means of execution), etc. They should probably know some college and professional sports basics, too.